My Most Anticipated Films of 2017

Blog, Film

2017 is officially upon us, which means we have a whole new year of movies ahead of us! What am I looking forward to most? Well, I’m glad you asked! These are my most anticipated films of the year.

Honorable Mentions:

  • Baywatch: I have no excuse for this one. I’m just a huge fan of the Rock and Zac Efron. The movie seems to know just how dumb its premise is, and has a 21 Jump Street vibe. Should be fun!
  • Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales: I’m a huge, unapologetic fan of the original trilogy, so will always be willing to give the Pirates franchise another chance.
  • Untitled Cloverfield Project: I absolutely loved 10 Cloverfield Lane, so another anthology film set in the Cloverfield universe has my name allll over it.
  • Baby Driver: A new film from Edgar Wright? Yes! If we actually had a trailer this may be higher on my list. For now it’s just marked as anxiously anticipated.

And now, onto the main list!

15. Kong: Skull Island

kong-skull-island-new

Kong: Skull Island looks like the Mad Max: Fury Road of Kong films. It’s big, bombastic, colorful, and wacky. I was a big fan of 2014’s Godzilla, with which this film will share a “cinematic universe,” so that alone has me intrigued about Skull Island. Add the fact that this film has a great cast and some serious Full Metal Jacket inspirations on display, and you can go ahead and take my money now. This movie may very well end up being a big, loud, disappointing mess, but I think it has the chance to be a very different, fun blockbuster.

14. John Wick: Chapter 2

johnwick2

2015’s John Wick took me (and the world, it seems) completely by surprise. It’s great to see original, well-directed action movies these days, and John Wick: Chapter 2 looks like it’ll top its predecessor in terms of fun Keanu Reeves ass-kicking. Yes please!

 

13. Thor: Ragnarok

ragnarok

Usually, a Thor film wouldn’t end up on my list of most anticipated films. I’ve liked the character enough in his past big screen portrayals, but honestly couldn’t care less about seeing more Asgardian adventures. However, once I heard that Taika Waititi, director of Hunt for the Wilderpeople (my favorite film of 2016) had signed on to helm this one, I was sold. I mean, just look at that logo! We also know that it will partially adapt parts of the Planet Hulk comic book run, which I liked, and the Hulk is actually one of my favorite Marvel characters. So, way to go, Marvel, you’ve pulled me back in.

12. Spider-Man: Homecoming

spidermanlarge

Speaking of Marvel actually making me care about their cinematic universe again (I was lukewarm on Captain America: Civil War and have yet to see Doctor Strange), how great does Spider-Man: Homecoming look, huh? Spider-Man is my favorite Marvel Comics character, and I’ve liked most of his big screen adaptations thus far. He was also my favorite part of Civil War, and I love the John Hughes-esque feel of this film. As much as I liked Andrew Garfield and tolerated Tobey Maguire in the Peter Parker role, I love that with Tom Holland we’re finally getting a young, high school-aged Peter. To top it all off, Michael Keaton has returned to the superhero genre to play the villain! That alone is worth the price of admission.

11. Logan

logan

While the X-Men film franchise has, as a whole, been pretty hit-and-miss, there’s no denying how great Hugh Jackman is in the role of Wolverine. Logan is (supposedly; I have my doubts) Jackman’s last time donning the adamantium claws of the fan-favorite mutant, and it finally looks like he’s getting the solo film he truly deserves. Logan looks like No Country for Old Men with mutants. I’ve loved everything I’ve seen from the film thus far, and hope this is great so that we can get more subversive, thoughtful superhero films in the future.

10. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

rs-guardians-of-the-galaxy-vol-2-10e673f6-3a1a-4983-826a-e5235aa79986

2017 could really be the year Marvel wins me back. Guardians of the Galaxy is the only Marvel Studios film I actually “loved,” and is the one I’ve rewatched the most. I’m incredibly excited to spend more time with these characters, and think James Gunn has been given enough autonomy by the studio to continue delivering something truly special with this franchise. The trailer looks fun, Baby Groot won me over, and now I’m anxiously awaiting this movie’s arrival.

9. Dunkirk

dunkirk-teaser-trailer

There are four words that should get you excited about Dunkirk: Christopher Nolan. War movie. That’s it! Nolan is one of my favorite directors, and while his last effort, Interstellar, wasn’t quite as good as, say, the Dark Knight trilogy or Inception, it was still a proud display of Nolan’s excellence. Dunkirk looks gripping and absolutely heartbreaking. I’m sure it won’t be much of a fun moviegoing experience, but man, does the movie look great.

8. Coco

coco-pixar

Pixar is my favorite film studio, and have directed several films that rank high on my list of all-time favorites. For that reason alone, I’m excited about Coco, the latest original idea to come from Toy Story 3 director Lee Unkrich. We haven’t seen any footage yet, but know that it centers around a Mexican boy named Miguel, who accidentally ends up in the Land of the Dead. It sounds like a fun way to approach Dia De Los Muertos, and co-stars Mozart in the Jungle actor Gael Garcia Bernal, whom I love.

7. Blade Runner 2049

blade-runner-2049-trailer1-700x297

Normally, I’d be against a Blade Runner sequel. But a Blade Runner sequel directed by Denis Villeneuve, the man behind Arrival and Prisoners? Where do I buy my ticket??

In all seriousness, Villeneuve is one of the best filmmakers working today, so he can direct anything he wants and I’ll go see it. Blade Runner 2049 looks, from the teaser we’ve seen, absolutely stunning, thanks to the return of original cinematographer Roger Deakins. I’m a huge Ryan Gosling fan, so I’m excited to see him in the lead, and am intrigued about how they’ll use Harrison Ford’s return as Decker. I’ve said on this blog before that I’m a big sucker for good science fiction, so Blade Runner 2049 easily earns a spot on this list.

6. Alien: Covenant

alien-fors

Remember when I said I’m a huge sucker of good sci-fi? Well, I’m a big fan of Prometheus, so was sold on Alien: Covenant the minute it was announced. Ridley Scott looks to be at the top of his game with this one, as Covenant looks absolutely terrifying. It should be a thrilling new entry into the Alien mythos.I’m excited to see Michael Fassbender back as not one, but two versions of the android David, and like the rest of the supporting cast. I’m also interested to see how he’ll tie this one in with Prometheus while also veering far enough away from it to win over that film’s detractors.

5. War for the Planet of the Apes

planet

The latest batch of Planet of the Apes films that stemmed from 2011’s Rise of the Planet of the Apes have been far better than anyone thought they could be, or have any right to be. 2014’s Dawn of the Planet of the Apes was one of my favorite movies of that year, and one of the best, thoughtful science fiction films I’ve seen in a long time. I’m glad that director Matt Reeves is back for War; this could be the rare time that the third installment in a trilogy lives up to its predecessors.

4. The LEGO Batman Movie

lego-batman-movie-vehicles

I absolutely adored The LEGO Movie, and love Batman. So… need I really say more about this one?

The LEGO Batman Movie looks like a hilarious, fun, and creative romp into the life of the Dark Knight, while pulling a ton of members of his rogues gallery into the fray and playing around with various Batman tropes. I have seriously high hopes for this one, and think that if done right, it could end up being the best Batman movie to date. Fingers crossed!

3. Wonder Woman

wonder-woman-movie-poster-courage-theme

2016 was a bit of a rough year for the DC film universe. I liked both Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice and Suicide Squad, but a lot of people hated both of them, so Wonder Woman has a lot to prove. Luckily, the film looks great, thanks to director Patty Jenkins. Gal Gadot was fantastic as Diana in BVS, so I’m excited to spend an entire movie with her this time. I think Wonder Woman could be the film to save the DC universe, which is actually a pretty rad turn of events, from a feminist standpoint.

2. Justice League

justice-league-movie-cast

Justice League is a film I’ve been waiting to see for my entire life, and if it weren’t for the fact that we’re getting a new Star Wars film every year, it would have made the top of this list. I have faith that Zack Snyder can deliver a gripping, fun, and ultimately satisfying superhero teamup movie (just look at his masterpiece Watchmen, my favorite comic book adaptation). Everything we’ve seen from the film so far looks fantastic, and I cannot wait to see my favorite superheroes all together on the big screen!

1. Star Wars: Episode VIII

dd2136507ee67d7a5e6494796e514f1b73f89d4ed7f861ffd5f1d4fe04d78a27

How cool is it that we get to see a new Star Wars movie every year? And how great is it that so far, both The Force Awakens and Rogue One have been fantastic? If all goes well, I suspect that a Star Wars movie will end up being my favorite film of the year for the third time in a row.

Episode VIII sees the return of the characters we all loved in The Force Awakens, and will this time be brought to life by Looper and Brick helmer Rian Johnson. I think Johnson is the perfect kind of filmmaker for the Star Wars universe, and I absolutely can’t wait to see what he has in store for us. It’s a bummer that we have to wait all the way until December for this one, but at least I can rewatch The Force Awakens a couple dozen more times between now and then.

So, there we have it, my most anticipated films of 2017! One thing I love is that, by year’s end, several of my favorite films usually weren’t on these lists, and instead come completely out of nowhere. Considering the exciting things I listed here, I anxiously await the surprises that 2017 has in store for us.

What film are you most looking forward to this year? Sound off in the comments!

2 thoughts on “My Most Anticipated Films of 2017

  1. This is a great. I agree with everything here. I’ve been dying to see Justice League. To see that realized on-screen in anyway will be great. The Blade Runner trailer looks awesome. I never knew I wanted it. Logan looks amazing. I can’t wait to see what Hugh Jackman does without all the noise of other characters. And Dunkrik has to be awesome. Well done with the list.

    1. Thanks, Caleb! I’m glad you’re excited for these films too. I hope they all turn out great so that we have good things to talk about over the course of 2017 haha

Leave a Reply

