New Year, New Adventures!

Blog, Life, Photography

Happy New Year! 2017 is officially upon us, and with it comes the chance for new opportunities, new resolutions, and new adventures to be had.

I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes. Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You’re doing things you’ve never done before, and more importantly, you’re doing something. – Neil Gaiman

2016 was a great year for me personally, professionally, and artistically. My wife and I continued to work from home together in a job we love. We were able to move into a bigger place, which in turn meant an office/photography space for myself (and room to put all of my LEGO sets!). We even, for the first time in our lives, completed a New Year’s Resolution: to not eat fast food for an entire year.

I was given the chance to guest star on two podcasts (F This Movie! and Heroes and Coffee), made a bunch of new friends and connected with fellow toy photographers at the Seattle Toy Photo Safari, and because of that was able to begin writing guest posts for Stuck in Plastic. I also continued my work as a staff writer at Flickering Myth, and am excited to write even more during the new year.

I think I really grew as a photographer in 2016, and hope to continue learning and honing my craft over the next 364 days. My wife and I have dubbed 2017 the Year of the Routine, as we hope to apply more structure to our lives and use our time and energy more wisely. That has given birth to a new venture for me as a photographer: weekly photo walks!

photo-walk

Several of my photography friends take part in photo walks, and I look forward to doing the same this year. Each week, I plan to pack my camera bag, grab a few LEGO minifigures, and take a walk, capturing any shots that may cross my mind. I took my first walk this morning, and found it to be incredibly fun, relaxing, and meditative. I was able to get a few good photos out of it too (like the shot above) and already have some ideas I hope to try out next weekend.

I want to partake in photo walks for several reasons. The first is to get some good exercise, while also getting out of the house. As someone who works from home on a computer all day, doing either of those things can sometimes be difficult. This way, I get to kill two birds with one stone.

I also want to take this chance to further experiment with outdoor photography. As I wrote about for Stuck In Plastic last June, I usually shoot indoors, but venturing into the wild gives me a chance to escape my comfort zone and challenge myself. These photo walks are the perfect opportunity to continue that trend.

Thank you for the support in 2016, and for following along with my adventures both here on the blog and on social media. Here’s to another great year.

Adventure is out there!

One thought on “New Year, New Adventures!

  1. I like the part of the Neil Gaiman quote that celebrates ‘doing something’. I have always had great admiration for people who are ‘up to something’ and you certainly personify that. May 2017, the year of Routines, be so good to you that your cup fills and overflows with the goodness. Excellent shot, too; looks JUST like you!

Leave a Reply

