Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Has No Excuse For Being This Boring

Blog

AGENTS-OF-SHIELD-logo

So, I just finished watching the season premiere of Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and I have to say… I’m not impressed. I’m not even disappointed. I’m just… indifferent? Uninterested? Bored?

Yes, that’s the right word. Bored. Like many comic book movie fans, I was intrigued about the idea of a S.H.I.E.L.D. TV show (less excited about the fact that I have to type out S.H.I.E.L.D. each goddamn time, though), because of the possibilities it had for world building and expanding the Marvel cinematic universe. Yeah, we get two Marvel films a year and we’ll soon be getting three, but there’s only so much story you can tell in a two hour movie, so the larger storytelling opportunities at Marvel’s disposal were kind of limited. The problem is, Marvel has no freaking clue what to do with Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and are apparently content with allowing it to be one of the most underwhelming shows on television.

I forgave the show for having a lousy first season, because most shows have a lousy first season; they’re busy finding their footing and discovering their true audience and goals with time. Now that we’ve had a year where some pretty massive things have happened in the Marvel universe, I was hoping that Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. would kick things up a notch and pick up just a bit of momentum for its sophomore year.

Nope.

Which is a shame, because for a series that focuses on a top secret government agency that exists in a world full of superheroes, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. has absolutely no right to be this uninteresting.

At least we have Daredevil to look forward to next year.

Leave a Reply

